[Photos] Top 5 Photos from Seoul

I finally got around to posting my favorite shots from my Seoul trip from back in September. It was a nice get away from Beijing. The city reminded me mostly of Tokyo for its efficiency in transportation and access to many things that I was blocked from in Beijing, like internet and western food. Since I took 1,000 photos all together from this seven-day trip, choosing 5 photos was  a tough task. I tried to choose a photo from different genres. But as efficient and smooth Seoul was, I really missed Beijing for what it is. The more I travel outside of Beijing, the more thankful I am for what I have in Beijing. Seoul was delicious and it was interesting to see North Korea with my own eyes from the DMZ. Here are the top 5 photos. Enjoy!

Picture #1: I could not help but to take a photo of this little girl at Gyong Buk Gong Palace. Her facial expression shows how she was annoyed by her mother taking a picture of her over and over. This week was during Chuseok, the national holiday in Seoul and you could see many people dressed up in traditional Korean outfits. What distinguishes Japan and Korea in traditional wear was the bright colors that could be seen in Korea. During Chuseok, aka Korean thanksgiving, people go home to their hometown so some of the restaurants and shops in Seoul were closed.

Picture #2: I had a romantic afternoon with three of my guy friends where we witnessed where couples "lock" their love at Seoul tower. We took a cable car up the hill and we saw the sunset. This shot was taken from Seoul Tower and although I can't read Korean, I'm guessing it says something similar along the lines of "You are my destiny" or "We will be together forever" or something like that. But nonetheless it was a great place to overlook the entire city of Seoul.

Picture #3: By now I hope you have realized that I am a big fan of blue sky's in my photography. This one came out well because of the great contrast. This photo was taken at the Korean War Memorial, which is a must go if you are in Seoul. Seoul Tower is on the top right corner of this photo as well.

Picture #4: Also taken at Gyong Buk Gong Palace. During Chuseok, you could see many events going on around the city. Kids were painting masks and you just gotta love the creativity and the colors.

Picture #5: This was taken at a park right by City Hall in Seoul. The architecture of the traditional style buildings are quite similar to the ones in Beijing or Tokyo but I just like this photo because its chill and that was my goal for this trip. I just wanted to chill and relax and that's exactly what I did in Seoul.

Creative Commons Licence
Go Katayama – Photojournalist in Beijing by Go Katayama is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.
Based on a work at gokatayama.com.

Leave a Reply

