[Beijing Lifestyle] The Scariest thing on the road in Beijing: Audi A6

Today’s post might be found as being random but I really need to get this out to everyone. Every day I get up and go to work like most people do here in Beijing. I walk about 5 minutes from my apartment to the subway station and take the subway for about 2 stops where I get off. From this subway stop I walk about 10 minutes listening to music on my ipod and sometimes I forget that I am indeed in China where pedestrians never get the right of the way. Even when the light is green one must make sure there are no cars coming. I Look left, then right and then look left and right again just to be sure. In China, there’s a common feeling the driving is power and has authority on the road. One can see cars parked in sidewalks and parked in the most inconvenient places. Within the hierarchy of automobiles in Beijing, I personally have noticed that there are way more Audi’s than a Mercedes or a BMW. I was told that driving a Audi A6 is a way Chinese people show off their status as only government officials in China back in the days could ride them. Even more, I have noticed that the nature of the driving attitude in China is bad as it is, but Audi A6 drivers are easily the worst. Don’t get me wrong, I really like Audi’s and all but with the driving attitude and the numerous number of, let me add another description, a Black Audi A6’s, this vehicle has really been one of my biggest enemies and frightening thing on the streets. So everyone in Beijing, beware of Audi A6. In Beijing, even commuting to work is a survival game.

Beijing Central Business District in the pollution. There is no Audi A6 in sight but you never know when it will pop out at you.

Creative Commons Licence
Go Katayama – Photojournalist in Beijing by Go Katayama is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-ShareAlike 3.0 Unported License.
Based on a work at gokatayama.com

2 responses

  1. LL

    When I was in Beijing, the cars frightened me to no end. I ended up just following groups of people when they’d cross, which meant it took forever but somewhat guaranteed a bit of safety in numbers.

    It is an interesting thing to know about audis since I have only remember seeing lots of mercedes. I guess I was lucky. I did notice that cars pretty much did whatever they wanted. I was in a car whose driver decided to go over a low divider/sidewalk. I thought he was crazy but people treated it with indifference

    December 4, 2010 at 8:02 am

  2. Pingback: [Reflections] From Beijing to Paradise: Weekend Getaway in Guam « Go Katayama – Photography from Beijing

Leave a Reply

